Grammatical chage in progress?

I’m just reading some work by a student and I came across the following (words removed to preserve anonymity):

A […] group is made up of several people, one of which takes the part of the […]

This reads very strangely to my ear; I would write “one of whom”. But I can see that there is a problem for people (an increasing number, I suspect) who don’t have ‘whom’ in their vocabulary to use. One possibilty would be co-ordination rather then subordination:

A […] group is made up of several people, and one of them takes the part of the […]

But maybe a change is in progress here, with ‘which’ allowed to have human reference in this type of construction?

Leave a Reply

